PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie

evenkeel
October 14th, 2007, 09:44 AM
Just got the invite from strum, and here I am. Another member of the Washburn invasion. Unlike Dreadman, I have no real skills or knowledge. Just a long history of mediocre guitar playing. Nearly 40 years messing about with guitars (ouch that hurts) and I'm still perplexed by most of the fretboard.

Home is St. Petersburg, Fl., sort of... the "sort of" is due to our current living quarters, our sailboat berthed in Annapolis, Md. But that's about to change as we're leaving town in a week to ten days, to head to the islands for the winter. It's all a bit confusing, mostly to me.

Back to guitars. Like many on the Washie forum, my playing over the years was sporadic at best. During our first period (2000 to 2006) of living and cruising on a boat I re-ignited my interest in playing. Met a bunch of other cruiser/guitar players who gave me a lot of encouragement. That led to beach jams, open mics and even playing in a duo for a short period. Now that we're back living aboard I'm really looking forward to re-connecting with my cruiser/guitar playing cronies.

The collection, w/o the latest addition to the family.
http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/evenkeel_album/IMG_0934.jpg

The newest member of the herd.
http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/evenkeel_album/Martin002.jpg

t_ross33
October 14th, 2007, 09:49 AM
Welcome aboard the SS FretNet mate!

Wow. I can't tell you how much I envy you sailing the islands as winter is about to set in here in the Great White North!

Sailboats. Fine acoustics. Sounds very Margaritaville to me :beer:

Look forward to your posts (and pictures, and clips... you must post clips :rotflmao: )

Trev

sunvalleylaw
October 14th, 2007, 09:55 AM
Welcome EvenKeel! I grew up within a view of salt water and that, and boating, is the one thing I miss about my mountain home. Have fun here!

just strum
October 14th, 2007, 10:05 AM
evenkeel,