PDA

View Full Version : Epiphone Valve Special Amplifier

Danse
October 31st, 2007, 02:43 PM
I'm looking for a small tube amp for home.

Does any one have an comments on the Epiphone Valve Special, or other recommendations under $300.00

Thanks,

250Keith
October 31st, 2007, 02:55 PM
If you like the Epi, get the head and cab combo it's a 5watt little tone monster, I think it's about 250 for the head and cab, check sweet water or one of the other outlets.

Danse
October 31st, 2007, 03:11 PM
Thanks Keith

I'm new to electric, so any advise is welcome. From what I see the Valve jr only has a volume adjustment.

The Valve special is also 5 watts but has Gain, Middle, Bass, DSP, Reverb, Master Volume, and stand by . It sells for about $250.00.

I've tried the Valve Jr combo, but they did not have the special in stock.
I cranked it up in the store, boy it's loud. Like the option of a gain and master volume on the special.

your thoughts?

250Keith
October 31st, 2007, 03:27 PM
Ya the Vjr has only the Vol, but it takes pedals well, you can look on ebay for moded Vjrs, I think the Vjr & cab is the best bang for the buck, I'm going to pick one up after the first of the year.
Get on youtube and look at all the vids on this little amp I tink it sounds great.

tunghaichuan
October 31st, 2007, 03:44 PM
I took a look at the Valve Special schematic.

It has a higher gain preamp than the Valve Junior. The first 12AX7 tube has both triodes operating in parallel. The second gain 12AX7 is configured with the first triode as a gain stage direct coupled to the second triode which is configured as a cathode follower driving a treble/middle/bass tone stack. The signal out of the tone stack drives the DSP section. From there it goes into a single ended EL84 section, which looks close to the Valve Junior's output section.