PDA

View Full Version : Glad to be aboard ...

djmcconnell
November 1st, 2007, 11:20 AM
Nice to be with the group -- I've really enjoyed the breadth and depth of topics on this site and thought I'd officially sign in.

While I've had a guitar in my hand since I was 9 years old, I really consider myself a newbie since haven't focused on it until the last year when my youngest went off to college. I started taking lessons as an empty nester indulgence, and I've just had a blast with it.

I started playing in my church's worship band about once a month and have become hooked hardcore on playing with other people. I play mostly acoustic ('84 Takamine dread; one of the Martin lawsuit models), but my son loaned me his MexiStrat and I bought a Vox AC30VT so have been enjoying that as well.

I look forward to chatting with many of you and absorbing knowledge and wisdom wherever I can.

Tone2TheBone
November 1st, 2007, 11:23 AM
Welcome to the Fret! :)

duhvoodooman
November 1st, 2007, 11:30 AM
Welcome to TheFret. Great little amp, that AD30VT; a marvel of tonal flexibility! We'll all selflessly help you pick out a Strat of your own so that you can return to one you've been using to your son. And a Les Paul. And a Tele. And a semi-hollowbody. And....

djmcconnell
November 1st, 2007, 12:18 PM
Appreciate the welcomes. My problem is that my gear lust far outstrips my available resources -- and the guitars I like all cost north of $1,500. I'm saving my pennies!

ted s
November 1st, 2007, 12:19 PM
welcome dj

mrmudcat
November 1st, 2007, 12:25 PM
Welcome to the fret!:beer:

sunvalleylaw
November 1st, 2007, 12:29 PM
Welcome! I'd like to hear more about that Takamine sometime. Woods used, etc. Hope you have fun here!

just strum
November 1st, 2007, 12:33 PM
Come inside, the show's about to start
Guaranteed to blow your head apart
Rest assured you'll get your money's worth
The greatest show in Heaven, Hell or Earth
You've got to see the show, it's a dynamo