PDA

View Full Version : Getting a laptop

Robert
November 2nd, 2007, 07:16 PM
Ok, I need to get a better computer, so I'm thinking why not a laptop. Probably will to the PC route in order to keep the costs down a bit (I know the Powerbooks are really good).

What about Dell? See this one - http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/products/features.aspx/upsell_1721_systems?c=ca&cs=cadhs1&l=en&s=dhs

I am going to use it for recording my music and videos. No gaming.

Any tips or suggestions appreciated.

just strum
November 2nd, 2007, 07:32 PM
I'm not an expert on what is the best, but I have a Dell Latitude D820 and really enjoy it. It's wirerless which makes it great at home, office or anywhere I can pick up a signal.

I purchased a Dell Vestro 1500 laptop for my son and he has no complaints. When I purchased it, they only offered it to Small Businesses. I actually had to call and fight for the thing and demand to speak to one supervisor after another until they agreed to sell it.

So, I like Dell. I have heard that they aren't as good as they use to be, but I've had no problems with them and have owned 5 or 6, plus we have about 150 Dells at work.

Since you can build what you want, I would suggest going to their site and putting a couple of models together and see what you get.

ted s
November 2nd, 2007, 07:41 PM
For work we use Dell exclusively. I've had my notebook in dusty,hot and cold. Cold like on the roof of a college comissioning controls Dec.23 while it's snowing !
I just got my Mom an Inspiron 1721, she is very happy with it.

Robert
November 3rd, 2007, 07:32 AM
Toshiba is pretty good too? This one looks like a good deal -
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3334088

just strum
November 3rd, 2007, 07:39 AM
Toshiba is pretty good too? This one looks like a good deal -
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3334088