PDA

View Full Version : Best Advice

just strum
November 8th, 2007, 07:55 PM
Ok, this may or probably has been done before, but again, new people and passing time may provide some different/new responses.

This is something people at all experience levels can answer.

What are some of the things that you've done that had a big and/or positive impact on your playing?

Since I am a beginner, the things I have to offer are very simple:

1) Push yourself to play without staring at your fret hand. Sounds like simple advice, but besides further condition of muscle memory, I find I am more relaxed when doing this. It's not a case of never looking at your fret hand, but minimize it.

2) Repetition. If it's a song or a riff, take it in chunks, get real comfortably with it before moving on.

3) Play with at least one other person when possible. I have limited access to people that play, but those times the opportunity is available, the time is much more productive.

4) practice, practice, practice.

Spudman
November 8th, 2007, 09:29 PM
We mentioned something about playing with yourself in the dark a while back. That was so that you couldn't see the fretboard. I think it got twisted a little bit if you know what I mean,;) but it's still a good idea. It makes you use your ears.

Repetition is essential in the beginning. You need to develop muscle memory and stamina. Be sure to do only the good or correct things repetitively. You don't want to ingrain bad habits.

The biggest thing for me was to go see as many live players as possible. I'd always try to stand right in front of them or make sure I had a clear line of sight so that I could see everything they were doing. It's inspirational, informative and you'll see what works and what doesn't work, and the best part is that you ask them questions maybe after the show or on a break.

sunvalleylaw
November 8th, 2007, 10:06 PM
My advice comes straight from advice I received from members here: