PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to record and post videos, like on YouTube?

YerDugliness
November 11th, 2007, 09:01 PM
Planning on buying a new desktop in December or January, and I'd like to get whatever I need to be able to record to digital format so I can upload to YouTube.

So far, I'm going for memory over features. I plan on getting a 400GB hard drive, don't care if the flatpanel monitor is 17" or 22", so plan on saving some $$ getting the smaller monitor.

So, guys, help a total noob here--what else do I need? Do I need a sound card (will purchase a computer with the new MS Visio OS)? I know I probably need a web cam, but what else? Really, I have absolutely NO idea how to go about this, so please post in simple, non-technical language as much as possible. At this time I have no interest in running a recording studio, just want to shoot some videos of myself in my comfy corner, and be able to put them up on YouTube, so..........???

Thanks, Guys & Gals!!!

Dugly :cool:

sunvalleylaw
November 11th, 2007, 11:23 PM
I am sure one of the Windows system guys (or Linux, Marnold :-)) guys can tell you the requirements in that world, but for me, going and getting one of the new iMacs makes sense. They have it all as far as features (I have not posted to youtube, but know how I would if I was ready to), and the software you need (iMovie) is all installed. Not to start any platform wars, just my .02 because it has worked for me for so long.

The iMacs have web cams built in too, or you can just use your video camera, and import it into iMovie to edit and get it ready to upload to youtube. Justa tells you how that works below.

Justaguyin_nc
November 12th, 2007, 11:21 AM
Congrats on getting a new computer..:beer:

What ya need should come with it basicly.

All you need after the computer is a way to record yourself.
As you mentioned a Webcam is one way and should come with the software needed to capture yourself to computer.