PDA

View Full Version : Bad Pot?

Guitar Gal
November 21st, 2007, 08:23 PM
This may be a simple thing, but thought I'd post it here and get ideas/suggestions.

I've been enjoying my new Agile, however, I have noticed that my bridge volume pot does not always turn the volume off when I dial it down to zero. Sometimes it does turn off the volume and sometimes it does not. Other times, the volume is off when the knob is on zero, but then it suddenly comes back on again. When I move the knob is also sometimes sounds scratchy.

Is it a bad pot or something with the wiring? Something else? I have little experience with guitar wiring, but am always willing to learn. :R

GG

oldguy
November 21st, 2007, 08:33 PM
Well, here's a suggestion... you could remove the back plate that covers the controls and take a peek to see if anything looks loose, like a wire that wasn't soldered correctly/completely. You can turn the pot up/down and peer in there w/ a flashlight and see if anything looks suspect.
If I was guessing, I'd say it's a bad pot, just a guess, tho.
Hope that helps.

tunghaichuan
November 21st, 2007, 09:45 PM
It sounds to me from your description that either the pot is dirty, or failing.

If the pot is just dirty, you can get pot cleaner from Radio Shack, but it is not the best stuff. A better choice would be Craig Deoxit. These cleaners remove buildup/debris from the conductive track inside the pot.

You'll need to take Oldguy's suggestion and remove the cover. Inspect the wiring to see if anything is loose. If it all looks intact, you can clean the pot by squirting some cleaner into the slot near the solder lugs. Then rotate the shaft all the way up and all the way down several times to work the cleaner into the pot.