PDA

View Full Version : Can You "Learn" to be a Guitar Phenomenon?

TS808
November 22nd, 2007, 07:47 AM
I thought I'd post this after seeing Joe Bonamassa last night and being totally blown away by his abilities, tone, vocals, and well, everything! The guy was without a doubt phenomenal. That was the best concert I think I've EVER been to (yes, he was THAT amazing).

My question (or conclusion) is this: Can someone learn to play that great, or is a special gift that you either have or don't?

I consider myself to be above average in skills, and have been playing since I was 9 (I'm now 47). No matter how much I practice and play, I'll never reach the skills of Joe Bonamassa or Joe Satriani for that matter.

I came to the conclusion that some people have a "gift" for music and in this case guitar playing...something you can't learn. Look at SRV and Hendrix for example...both were self-taught, couldn't read music, knew very little about music theory, but blew so many people away. They were able to pick up the guitar and become "guitar gods".

What do others think? Just curious....Can you really learn to be that great, or is it a trait that some people just have? Granted, these guys totally destroy the "normal curve" and are definite outliers, or exceptions.

just strum
November 22nd, 2007, 08:16 AM
Great question. My feeling is there is a gift that guitarist like Joe have, but the difference with Joe and other greats is they capitalized on it. These people dedicate almost every waking hour to playing the guitar or any instrument. As kids they lock themselves in their room and absorb the music and fine tune their feel of the music. Another factor is the influence that drives them, not just the music, but family and/or friends that they have around them. When I watch a great guitarist one of the first things I notice is they "feel" the music almost as if they are being led by some magical force.