PDA

View Full Version : Jam advice?

birv2
November 29th, 2007, 07:53 AM
I'm going to a local blues jam tonight. This will be my 4th time, and I have to admit that it is getting a bit easier -- not quite so nervous.

Just to set the scene... it's a pretty cool crowd, good supportive vibe, musicians are friendly, etc. I'm a middling guitarist -- know my minor pentatonics up and down the scale and pretty fluid with them. Riff vocabulary is still kind of limited, as I'm always learning. I've been playing on and off for 40 years (Yikes), and about 3 years ago got an electric and started to learn blues. That's my main goal.

So last time, I took my guitar and my new Behr OD100 and went to plug in and found I was short one cord. Thus, no pedal. I've gotten pretty good crowd response on my solos when I dirty it up and just go a bit crazy, not overthinking each note. Last time, I couldn't dirty it up and it sounded awful to me. The more I played, the worse it sounded. Anybody had that experience? Afterwards, a couple of people said I sounded fine but I should just look up, smile, etc. I was obviously showing my distress!

So tonight, I'm taking my Peavey SS amp, TWO cords, my OD pedal, and my guitar. Hoping for the best, but I'd love any suggestions/advice you more experienced players might have.

I have also found that a couple of thirst-quenchers helps with the nerves. :beer:

TIA,
Bob

aeolian
November 29th, 2007, 02:42 PM
Good on you to get up there and show your stuff.

I'm curious as to why you think not dirtying the sound up does not sound good? What is it you thought is lacking: sustain, heaviness, what? I wonder whether you actually sounded better to the listeners than you thought.

I've also been playing off and on for the last 40 years too. I'm way too chicken and insecure to do what you did. I do jam with a couple of guys almost every week for the last year or so and find that my 'vocabulary' is really wanting, although I'm working on it.

birv2