PDA

View Full Version : Do I need Tube bias adjustment?

Radioboy950
December 1st, 2007, 09:44 PM
Hey folks. I am brand new to the "tube scene".
If my amp currently has a pair of JJ 6L6GC, and I replace them with a new matched pair of JJ 6L6GC's, would I still need a bias adjustment?
The manufacturer says to re-bias if you don't get the tubes directly from THEM because they grade their tubes, and discard many that don't make the cut.
Supposedly, if you buy their tubes with the same grade, you're fine. But of course this comes at a price...about 2X what you'd pay elsewhere for the matched pair.
What's your take on this?

tunghaichuan
December 1st, 2007, 11:50 PM
Is this a Mesa/Boogie amp? Their amps usually have non-adjustable fixed bias. You have to swap out a resistor to get the bias set right when using tubes not from them.

Even if it isn't a Boogie, you should have the bias set by a competant tech any time you change tubes. Modern production tubes like JJ aren't made to the same tight tolerances as NOS tubes were, RCA, GE, Tung-sol, Mullard. Not that JJs are bad tubes, just not consistant from tube to tube.

You might want to have the bias checked after a few months of playing the amp as well. As tubes age, the bias can change.

My $.02

tung

Hey folks. I am brand new to the "tube scene".
If my amp currently has a pair of JJ 6L6GC, and I replace them with a new matched pair of JJ 6L6GC's, would I still need a bias adjustment?
The manufacturer says to re-bias if you don't get the tubes directly from THEM because they grade their tubes, and discard many that don't make the cut.
Supposedly, if you buy their tubes with the same grade, you're fine. But of course this comes at a price...about 2X what you'd pay elsewhere for the matched pair.
What's your take on this?

Spudman
December 2nd, 2007, 10:07 AM
What amph?