PDA

View Full Version : Gibson / Epiphone SG

Nelskie
March 13th, 2006, 12:58 PM
My heightened interest in Eric Clapton's pre-70's tone can be attributed to a number of things, but mainly two in particluar: me owning an Epi Les Paul, and my Pod XT. If you don't know any history about the evolution of Clapton's sound, I will tell you that he was at the headwaters of the Gibson / Marshall tone combination (referred to as the "woman tone"), which in turn, set off a guitar sound revolution of biblical proportions. Clapton, of course, could pick & choose pretty much whatever he wanted to play, but during mid to late 60's, he was camped firmly under the Gibson banner. Several of his primary guitars during that time were SG models, and that in particular is what has recently tweaked my curiosity.

When I started playing back in the early 80's, the only prominent player I knew of who used one was Angus Young of AC~DC. Of course, I loved his sound, and AC~DC's music. However, being totally engrossed in burgeoning hair metal thing led my own tastes away from buying more traditional instrument. As the 80's became the 90's, and I delved further into my craft, I started discovering more and more players who wielded the trusty SG: Pete Townshend of The Who; Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath; Duane Allman of the Allman Bros., as well as the Cream-era Eric Clapton. If you ask me, that's a pretty substantial line-up of guitarists, not to mention a major-league catalog.