PDA

View Full Version : New Member

VSTAR
December 25th, 2007, 10:32 PM
I ran onto this site and really like it , there seems to be something for everyone.
I have been playing guitar off and on for 40 years , played in several bands in Ohio before moving to Texas. Quit playing out for a few raised a family and stayed at home. Seen SRV and decided to get into the blues have been goin that way for several years now. Most fun gig I ever played was in Amsterdam with the Pat Savage Band , and the JHB . Got my 15 of fame.
Equipment wise I have a 1970,s US Strat. 1962 EPI Granada , 1967 Fender Coronado II . A Breedlove acoustic and an Art and Lutherie Acoustic

Amplifiers 1990 Tweed 100 watt Hybrid Tubeworks , One of the best kept secrets of all time. Tubeworks have sold out
Mesa Boogie Duel Rectifier Maverick ...so so too bright I am not a Boogie fan.

oldguy
December 25th, 2007, 10:46 PM
Welcome to TheFret, VSTAR! Glad you joined us.:D
SRV fan, not a big Dual Rec fan???:beer:
No problem, you'll fit right in here.
I think alot of us take time off to raise a family, that's how I learned to play "Workin' man blues".....:D

VSTAR
December 25th, 2007, 11:32 PM
Yes or in my case it was Big Boss Man the wife LOL . Every year we go to the Navasota Blues festival it is a celebration of Brazos county blues history . Mance Lipscomb was their most famous player. When I first moved to Texas there was this old guy who used to live in a shotgun shack in Washington Texas and play acoustic blues . I was lucky enough to have met him befor he passed he was Abraham Sweed a very poor Texas bluesman . Abraham Sweed never did well in the U S but did OK in Europe , But boy the stories he could tell about the Bluesman from all over the world and the battle between acoustic and electric blues . They have paintings of him at the festival and I think it is time I spend the cash and buy one . These folks are part of American music history more so then the SRV's.

Spudman