PDA

View Full Version : John Mayer

stingx
February 4th, 2008, 06:59 AM
Maybe you guys can explain this to me. I post on other forums and I notice that when I post about John Mayer I get a lot of negative responses. Is this jealousy? Think about it - the guy is a very good player. He studied at Berkeley, became a very good songwriter, switched his genre a bit and thoroughly loves to entertain. Why the hate? There's even moaning over him have Fender signature guitar. GOD FORFEND!!! I don't think he's the best thing to sliced bread or anything but I would be less than honest not to give credit where credit is due. Also, think about, who here wouldn't mind trading shoes with the guy? I like what I do for a living and all but the guy is living my dream :)

Anyway, I'd love to read your thoughts on this. Maybe someone has a good explaination.

tot_Ou_tard
February 4th, 2008, 07:40 AM
Music fans are often like petty little cliques in high school.

God knows how many times I've heard someone say that so-n-so sucks or such a group sold out.

I ignore all of it & happily go about enjoying music, all kinds of music. I'm a heretic in many circles (except those that really love music) & wouldn't have it any other way.

Other than that, I've got no explaination. It amazes me how much energy people put into narrowing their boundaries and their world. Smug certainty must feel snug & warm, I guess.

sunvalleylaw
February 4th, 2008, 07:57 AM
I cannot give an explanation, but notice the same thing. tot I think hits on part of it.

R_of_G
February 4th, 2008, 08:34 AM
Music fans are often like petty little cliques in high school.

God knows how many times I've heard someone say that so-n-so sucks or such a group sold out.

I ignore all of it & happily go about enjoying music, all kinds of music. I'm a heretic in many circles (except those that really love music) & wouldn't have it any other way.