PDA

View Full Version : Marshall 3203

FLHX
February 6th, 2008, 03:35 PM
Does anyone know how much the sound would change in a 3203 since it is a hybrid with 2 power tubes and 1 preamp tube?

tunghaichuan
February 7th, 2008, 10:52 PM
Does anyone know how much the sound would change in a 3203 since it is a hybrid with 2 power tubes and 1 preamp tube?

I used to own one of these. Very cool amp, but I'm not sure I understand your question.

tung

markb
February 7th, 2008, 11:06 PM
Hi, flhx. Strictly it's 2 power tubes and a driver/phase inverter. This is also part of the power stage and not a preamp tube. If they sound anything like the Mosfet series 52xx they'll be pretty good. I've no experience of these.

FLHX
February 8th, 2008, 08:22 AM
Sorry if I'm not clear. The question I'm asking is since the amp is half solid state and half tube would changing the tubes make any difference in sound. Like make it darker or more mellow depending on what tubes are in it. I'm running it thru a 1936 2x12.

tunghaichuan
February 8th, 2008, 09:09 AM
Sorry if I'm not clear. The question I'm asking is since the amp is half solid state and half tube would changing the tubes make any difference in sound. Like make it darker or more mellow depending on what tubes are in it. I'm running it thru a 1936 2x12.

There will be slight variations in tone when using different brands of EL34 tubes. You may be able to have the new JJ KT77 tubes installed, I've never personally tried them, but everyone who tries them raves about them.

The plate voltage in that amp is about 450v, so I would stay away from 6V6 tubes, although the JJ 6V6S and EH 6V6GT are supposed to work at high plate voltages. 6L6s might work, but I'd encourage you to take it to a tech to have the amp checked out and rebiased.

For the phase inverter tube, you might try a 12AX7 that has matched triodes or a 5751.