PDA

View Full Version : Practice Pays Off!

r_a_smith3530
March 27th, 2006, 10:58 AM
Practice in the basics DOES pay off!

When I came back, now playing bass, I used a different approach. Where before, as a guitarist, I kept trying to play like Eric, Jimi, Jimmy, Keith, or someone else, and trying to copy song licks, this time around, I went back to the basics.

Although I began buying CDs, and listening to every famous (and a few not-so-famous) bass player I could find, I did not try to emulate any of them. Instead, I started from scratch, working on fretting exercises and scales. I played scales until I could hum them in my sleep. I played scales until my family begged me to stop. I played scales until I could do it with my eyes closed, using what Obi Wan would call "The Force," that small still voice within. Eventually, that same force powered my finger movements, performing cross string fretting and picking exercises with ease. I did come across a few licks , quite by accident, while doing this.

Finally, I began to learn some simple blues progressions on the bass, some in basic 4/4 time, but others in 12/8. I began to notice that I was playing these, not mechanically, but rather from somewhere deep within. Everything that I had been listening to was suddenly influencing my fingers, and I wasn't playing like Stanley, or like Marcus, or even like Jaco. Rather, I was playing like Rob, like "Sporty Rob!"