PDA

View Full Version : Look vs Sound

Kodiak3D
March 5th, 2008, 12:58 PM
When I was choosing a guitar to start on, I read an article that said it's important to get a guitar that not only sounds good to you, but that you also find attractive. The thought behind it being that if you truly like the guitar (or love, in many cases:) ) you will want to play it more, and thus will learn more.

I've really thought about that a lot, and I agree. It's also made me wonder if there might be any correlation to the look of a guitar and how it sounds to an individual.

So ask this:
Do you find that a guitar you find visually attractive sounds better to YOU than one you find "ugly"?

It's an odd question, I know, but I AM a scientist.

I'm inclined to say "yes." While I haven't been exposed to a lot of guitars yet, I think I would be somewhat predisposed to expect an attractive guitar to sound better to me.

marnold
March 5th, 2008, 01:20 PM
That's a good point. I would love to see a guitar magazine take up a bunch of double-blind tests to try to figure these sorts of things out. I think many of the commonly-held opinions would be seriously challenged.

For me personally, there are very few guitars that I would consider to be ugly. The Gibson backwards flying V would be one of them. For example, I know a number of people who wouldn't touch my Floyd because of the hollowed-out headstock with no tuners on it. Then again, I like pointies and other guitars that most people would consider to be "weird".