PDA

View Full Version : Esp Ltd Mh-53

chongmagic
March 9th, 2008, 10:12 PM
I just bought an ESP LTD MH-53 the other day. I have always been a Fender man and I just wanted to add something different to my collection. I saw the guitar in the local music store and thought it looked cool so I thought I would try it out. For the price I thought it was an awesome guitar, and I feel in love with its playability. It has two ESP single coil pickups and a ESP humbucker in the bridge. I was thinking about switching out the bridge pickup for a Seymour Duncan SH-10, I want to stick with a passive pickup. I am wanting something with a metal edge but the versatility to play a nice clean sound. I am somewhat new to this, so can anyone offer any suggestions? Would the SH-10 be a good choice?

Thank you,

Chong

Spudman
March 9th, 2008, 10:56 PM
This thread is worthless without pictures.:poke: :D

There are a ton of good humbuckers out there. What amph are you playing through? Effects? One cool choice for a SSH guitar is a Dimarzio Super Distortion because when you split the coils it's real close to a stock Strat single coil sound and output. That way you can cover more ground tonally.

Kodiak3D
March 10th, 2008, 04:40 AM
I like the sound of ESP's stuff. At least two of my favorite bands use them (Metallica, Lacuna Coil). Great metal edge.

I really want an ESP EC-100 (the matte black with the gold finish). Still the most beautiful guitar I've seen (IMO). One of these days...

chongmagic
March 10th, 2008, 06:49 AM
Here is a photo of the guitar and the stock pickups

http://www.thefret.net/imagehosting/thum_154047d52e4e1d8eb.jpg (http://www.thefret.net/vbimghost.php?do=displayimg&imgid=392)

Kodiak3D
March 10th, 2008, 07:16 AM
Very sharp! I like it. What's the inlay on the 12th fret? I can't quite make it out.

chongmagic
March 10th, 2008, 08:24 AM
It just says MH-53 in the inlay.

marnold
March 10th, 2008, 08:26 AM