PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Player vs. Guitar World

marnold
March 18th, 2008, 12:09 PM
For those of you who subscribe to either or both magazines, I have a question. How does Guitar Player compare to Guitar World? A number of years ago I subscribed to GW. I kind of got fed up with it and switched to GuitarOne which I loved until they killed it. My remaining subscription got handed over to GW which I've been receiving since. My complaint remains the same: too much fluff. It seems geared for a demographic about 20 years younger than I. Is Guitar Player better in that regard? I bought the issue with George Lynch in it that Robert pointed out to me and enjoyed it. I got a cheapy subscription flier for GP in the mail and was considering taking them up on it.

I also subscribe to Premier Guitar which I like tremendously. It seems more "age appropriate" to me. My only problem with them is that it seems that the majority of the gear they review is boutique-caliber stuff that I'll never be able to afford in several lifetimes.

Thoughts?

player
March 18th, 2008, 12:25 PM
Not into the boutique stuff either.did the one you dislike have better or more gear in it that did appeal to you?

scgmhawk
March 18th, 2008, 12:25 PM
I get both GW and GP. I like them both. I agree that GW is definitely geared more towards metal and a young demographic but I like their tabs and lessons. GP is different in that it covers a variety of genres (jazz, blues, rock, etc). I actually just got their $12 subscription offer in the mail and sent it in. Beats paying $6.50 at the newsstand! I think it's a really good mag, and for $12 you can't go wrong.

FYI -- I also signed up for a free 1 year subscription to Premier Guitar (thanks to hearing about it on this forum). I'm not familiar with the mag but you can't beat the price.

hubberjub
March 18th, 2008, 01:49 PM