PDA

View Full Version : Duffy intro

Duff
March 19th, 2008, 06:24 PM
Duffy is my name and I never intro'd myself but have been participating for a long time. An intro is in order.

I am a retired teacher, retired at 52. My main instrument was drums and I am a somewhat accomplished drummer and like to jam with guitarists and sit in with my friends bands. One of my friends is a professional quality drummer and taught me the basics many years ago.

I always had a guitar, even if it was a shame or an excuse for a guitar but I did not take lessons. I would jam along to cd's etc.

When I retired I got my first fairly decent guitar, a Schecter Omen 6 in oiled walnut stain on basswood with a strat style and twin humbuckers. It is an excellent sounding and playing guitar and it looks awesome. Shortly thereafter I got other guitars like SX's and started to take lessons which I continue to this day. I have also fortunately continued to collect guitars and amps, etc. It has been the best retirement hobby that I could have chosen. It always stays green and I practice at least two hours every day, sometime much more and have lately taken to playing myself asleep with my SCXD at the head of my bed within easy reach and I'll wake up during the night with my guitar across my chest. I am not alone in finding that playing guitar gently super late at night is very effective in helping you connect to your heart and soul. So I really like this new habit.

I'm not going to list all my equip but might mention some things during my intro.