PDA

View Full Version : Neck radii

tot_Ou_tard
March 23rd, 2008, 07:57 PM
I'm sure that we've had this discussion before, but a search yielded bumkiss.

What is your favorite neck radius & why.

I have two guitars, both Godins with 12" radii. I have no experience with other experience...what say you?

just strum
March 23rd, 2008, 08:39 PM
I know my Strat is 9.5 and I like the feel of it. I would guess my ARC300 is the same and the Gibson Dot may be bigger. I tried to locate info on the last two, but couldn't dig anything up. Oh, my SG seems close to 9.5.

I like all of them, although the ARC and the Strat feel identical - both are fast and play pretty easy. I don't have a complaint about the Epi's, they just feel a little different.

Bloozcat
March 24th, 2008, 07:24 AM
Well, it does depend on the guitar. For Fenders and their clones, I like 9-1/2" or 10" radius (they're about identical in practical terms). I like the way they feel for chording, especially open chords low on the neck. And for lead parts, the radius is flat enough that notes don't fret out, even with a low action. I have one 10"-16" compound radius Strat clone that feels quite comfortable to play as well, and I even had a Strat clone neck that was 10"-17".

The two Agiles I have are both 13-3/4" radius, and they feel great for both chording and lead playing. My Ibanez AS-73 has, I believe, a 350mm (12.6") radius which is also quite comfortable. The Gibson's I've owned and/or played had 12" radii that I also liked.

I suppose the easiest way to sum it all up, is just to say that I'm probably not all that radius sensitive so much as I'm comfort/playabilty sensitive...if that makes any sense. If I was forced to choose one radius, though, I'd probably say 10".

djmcconnell
March 24th, 2008, 11:54 AM
I'd be up for a tutorial (or link to one):

what kind of neck might be better for certain types of playing, hand size, etc.