PDA

View Full Version : any place for jazz fan around here?

evergreen
March 26th, 2008, 10:08 PM
Hi all,

I am almost 30 and I've been playing guitar for 16 years. At first I tried to play rock on Hamer-like strat. It wasn't actually a piece of that brand, just a fake but the sound was quite pleasant and the mahogany fret was very convenient to play so I enjoyed playing it. Then I spent about 7 years for classic. There were several love stories, the brightest among them was the one with hand made guitar for $1500. It had very strong and deep sound and was really expressive when played Bach, but not that bright for Spanish pieces. I still love it.

I came to jazz after all and bought Esteve 1GR3E with pickup to be able to play both jazz and classic. I can't say it's outstanding but after years of playing experience I believe that good guitar sound is less than 10% for a good performance. So we finally married.

My interests are somewhat old fashioned, I love main stream. I like listen to Joe Pass and rarely listen to someone else. I also like him playing other instruments:

Niels Pedersen (Joe Pass playes the bass)
Oscar Peterson (Joe Pass playes the piano)
Bill Evans (Joe Pass playes the piano again)
Dee Dee Bridgewater (Joe Pass sings)
etc

I also play piano a bit...

So...
May I join theFret, guys?

Best,
evergreen.

Robert
March 26th, 2008, 10:24 PM
Welcome evergreen! You sure may join us, are you kidding!

I am a big jazz lover myself. Haven't listened much to Joe Pass, but my heroes are Bird, Miles, Trane, Oscar Peterson, Herbie Hancock, Joe Zawinul, John Scofield, Pat Martino, Sonny Rollins, Chick Corea, etc.

sunvalleylaw
March 26th, 2008, 10:46 PM
Welcome! I like jazz too. I like a variety of styles, and would like to learn about more. Join on in!

hubberjub
March 26th, 2008, 11:42 PM
Welcome. I studied jazz and classical for six years while in college so you're not alone.

magoo
March 26th, 2008, 11:55 PM
Hi evergreen, welcome.:beer:

evergreen