PDA

View Full Version : anybody play electric guitar w/o a pick?

birv2
April 2nd, 2008, 08:44 AM
I'm looking into switching it up. I've used several types and weights of picks and am now considering doing the "hubert thing".

Anybody tried this? Any advice? I'm a little concerned with losing speed (what little I have!). Or do you gain or keep speed by using thumb and other fingers?

Bob

Robert
April 2nd, 2008, 09:11 AM
I do use my fingers quite often. I just alter my style a bit and play slower. The tone becomes so dynamic when you use your fingers instead of a pick.

Spudman
April 2nd, 2008, 09:12 AM
I do this from time to time but mostly around the house. It does change how you approach a few things but that's OK because then you become more self stylized.

I suggest the next time you play with others just don't use a pic and see what happens.

Jampy
April 2nd, 2008, 10:15 AM
I tend to play 90% finger style, I am self taught so it is a bit sloppy at times, but I enjoy the flexibility it provides me in my limited playing range.

It is fun to mix it up a bit, so give it a shot.

Growing your thumb nail long (to the tip of your thumb) will actually start to sound like a pick.

Looks sexy to :rotflmao:

Blaze
April 2nd, 2008, 11:02 AM
I use thumb & fingers quite often too, you can make much more variations on your guit . like country stuff, blues , name it ..

It makes your sound quite different by a different attack ..It s also find for the jazz comping stuff ,i love it ..You can also find a way to hold your pick in beetwen fingers while youre plain in that style , then if you need speed , you grab the pick ..

Look at mr. Clutch_ master playin mostly with his fingers ..

s cuse my bad english , im Frogie from Quebec..

1yGB6d_3n58

Blazes:dude:

R_of_G
April 2nd, 2008, 02:42 PM
I do use my fingers quite often. I just alter my style a bit and play slower. The tone becomes so dynamic when you use your fingers instead of a pick.