PDA

View Full Version : Acoustic versus combo? Opinions please!

street music
April 12th, 2008, 10:39 AM
While I was visiting a music store yesterday, the owner and I were discussing the fact that I play my Takamine through my Fender Princeton 65, with or without my Zoom pedal on acoustic settings. He was talking about the fact that I can't get the correct acoustic sound unless I'm playing it through a good acoustic amp. OK, I'm still learning here and I have not played this guitar in a acoustic amp. What will the major differences be if I do get an acoustic amp? What brands do some of you who do gigs use? I looked at a Genz Benz, Roland , Fender, and Fischer. I didn't try them as I didn't have my guitar with me.:confused:

hubberjub
April 12th, 2008, 11:54 AM
Acoustic amplifiers are designed to reproduce certain frequencies that compliment an acoustic guitar. They usually incorporate a tweeter to help better reproduce the highs. They also have a lot more clean headroom than most electric amplifiers. If you wanted the truest sound I would mic the acoustic and run it through the PA. The guy at the store of course wants you to buy something so he can make money off of you. If you are happy with the sound you get running your guitar through your Fender amp then keep on doing it.

markb
April 12th, 2008, 03:06 PM
Acoustic amps are basically mini PAs. You can run an electric through them via a modelling box or a Sansamp or something too so they can be a good compromise if you play both acoustic and electric on stage. I'd avoid low powered acoustic combos, they just don't have the headroom. Having said that, I've seen many people using acoustics through Roland JCs or Fenders with acceptable results.

street music
April 12th, 2008, 04:21 PM
I was curious on the thoughts, I don't play gigs as of yet but maybe someday.