PDA

View Full Version : Dailing in the Right Amplifier Tone

Tim
April 12th, 2006, 08:26 AM
I need some help here. In my previous post I did a review on a book that I purchased. See http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=667

Here the situation. The examples that are given for backing tracks are absolutely fantastic. I love them all. I especially like the clear clean tones, along with some with a light crunch. I am thinking with my AD30VT, I should be able to come somewhere close to the tones in the examples. The CD has examples of Rock & Roll, Country, Funk, R & B, Blues, Reggae, etc.

Here’s my problem. Since I have little experience with amplifiers and their nuances, I have no idea where to start dialing in the amps EQ, and effects. I found on website that states a good setting to start with for Country is; Bass & Mids = 6 -7, Treble = 8-10, reverb on 3.

Does anybody know of a book written or a website that addresses a starting place to dial in the other tones mentioned above? I understand that a lot is in the fingers, but I need an amp baseline to start from.

Thanks for any help provided.

blogan
April 12th, 2006, 10:53 AM
Here's a good start... :p

http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=636

duhvoodooman
April 12th, 2006, 12:24 PM
Tim, I can't point you to a "musical genre tone recipe book", but here are a bunch of links you can browse through for info:

Lessons on playing various musical styles at Ultimate-Guitar.com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/music_styles/)

Famous guitarists' equipment and playing tips (http://guitar.about.com/od/guitaristsgear/)

About a zillion amp-related web links (http://www.amptone.com/amplinks.htm)

An interesting treatise on electric guitar tone at Penmachine.com (http://www.penmachine.com/musicpages/guitartone.html)

A couple of amp-related forums:

Amptalk.com (http://www.amptalk.com/message-board-forum/)

Guitar Tabs Universe efects & amp forum (http://www.guitartabs.cc/forum/index.php?showforum=11)