PDA

View Full Version : replace neck on MIJ 50s reissue Strat?

Pickngrin
April 14th, 2008, 09:13 AM
I have a Fender 50s reissue MIJ Strat that I bought new around 1989 or so, not long after I started playing. The frets have been pretty worn down and over a year ago, I had a fret recrowning done (the repairman said that it would improve playability). I'm not sure that was the best thing to do, in hindsight...but it was a birthday present from my wife. Anyhow, the frets just aren't enough for me. I'm thinking about buying a replacement neck as opposed to paying out the nose to refret the existing neck. Anyone have any opinions on this?
Would I be able to install any Fender-licensed 21 fret neck? Is it possible to use the Fender decals to make it look like a factory job? I don't want to sink a lot of money into this, but I'd like to make it fun to play again...

Thanks

ET335
April 14th, 2008, 01:46 PM
I am not sure what you are willing to pay for a good neck,but good quality necks aren't cheap...here is one site you can take a look at to get an idea.hope this helps:)

www.allparts.com/store/necks-guitar-necks,Category.asp

markb
April 14th, 2008, 03:10 PM
Get a refret but try guitars with different fret sizes so that you know just what you want. Replacing the neck will still involve installing/cutting a nut, possibly shimming the neck pocket, a fret dress and truss rod adjustment. So, unless you're prepared for investment in time and/or money on top of the cost of a replacement neck, a refret starts to look cheap by comparison. Just my two 'aporth.

Oh and btw you can fit any 21 or 22 fret neck. The 22nd fret hangs over the body and fits any strat regardless of what neck was originally fitted.

mrmudcat
April 14th, 2008, 04:18 PM