PDA

View Full Version : Homerecording of an old tune

aeolian
April 23rd, 2006, 10:31 AM
I mentioned under the amp thread that I just got an AD30VT and I'm still learning how to use it.

In the meantime here's a recording of Sleepwalk that I finished 2 weeks ago:

http://home.comcast.net/~kitn13/music/slpwalk.mp3

The drums are done with a software program. Guitars and bass are recorded through a J-Station into a digital 8-track, and the mix was done was on a computer with n-track. Playing is just my mediocre self, so set your expectations accordingly.

ZoSo65
April 23rd, 2006, 10:58 AM
Good job aoelian!
The tone sounds great!

Tim
April 23rd, 2006, 12:07 PM
Great job there aoelian! That is my favorite all time song. It has been my #1 since I first heard it back in the 50s. I really enjoyed listening to the different guitar sounds you have in the song.

Can you give us a break down on how you arranged the song? I.E. Types of amps, amp settings, fade in and guitar(s) used.

aeolian
April 23rd, 2006, 08:16 PM
Thank you ZoSo65 and Tim for the kind words.

I'm 57 years old and so I do remember hearing this song the first time when I was probably 11. It's one of those melodies that gets instantenously imprinted in my memory. It is also one of my all time favorite melodies; guess that's why I play it.

Like I mentioned initially, drums are programmed using a drum software program. I've had a J-Station for about 4 years and have learned how to get a number of decent sounds out of it. I don't particularly care whether it sounds authentic to any certain amp as long as it is a good sound.

Two guitars are used in the recording. The rhythm was played on the neck pickup on a Yamaha SG1500 (dual humbucker). I believe the amp model was the equivalent of a Boutique clean on the J-Station. I did not write it down but I think that was it. The rhythm was double tracked with one track panned to the right and one to the left.