PDA

View Full Version : Fender Princeton ???

Mark
April 25th, 2006, 08:21 PM
Being a Plumbing contractor I go to a lot of homes. So I was at a house and setting between some boxes in the garage was a Fender Princeton amp I wasnt able to see the entire front but Im sure it is an older one but just how old I dont know but from the look I did get it is probably 60-70 era. I plan to check it out tommorrow. Ive also checked Princetons out on the net and obviously the older the better but I figure if I can get it for say a hundred bux or so it might be fun to bring her back and get it dialed in and have an old classic to compliment my nice new shiny Vox AD50vt. Anyone have any experience with these any opinions?

ZoSo65
April 25th, 2006, 08:52 PM
Hell, I would say if you could get it for under a $100, your in!!!!,,,,A buddy I work with has one, not sure how old it is, but the chorus pots where creating a ton of static, even if he didn't use it,,,anyhoo, I re-soldered everything for him and it cleaned it up a lot, but every so often he get's the same noise/static,,,just need to replace the pots for the chourus which is a "gotta order it through fender thing", BUT, I found out how to get by without getting it from Fender, just gotta make a bracket up to hold the pot, and it's really easy, found the info on the web,,,,I think I bookmarked it,,if so I'll post it.
Other then that, the amp sounds great, especially for a non-tube amp,,made some mods to it so he could get a little more head room out of it, and it works great!!!!
As of right now he slaves it to a Fender Dyna-Touch III Deluxe 900, which is also a non tube amp, it sounds friggin awesome though!!!
Actually it was one of my choices when I was deciding on an amp.

ZoSo

Spudman
April 25th, 2006, 09:16 PM