PDA

View Full Version : Indroducing.....me!

Bordeaux
May 22nd, 2008, 11:57 AM
Hello All,

I'm new here and just wanted to indroduce myself. My name is David and I hail from Clayton, NC. I have been playing guitar for about 17 years starting out with a sweet (sarcasm) Hondoe Fender Strat knock off and a Crate 50 Watt SS amp that I still have to this day. My Dad being a fantastic guitar player himself bought me the guitar and amp for Christmas.

I started out playing Metallica, Death, Megadeath, Pantera and any other speed, thrash metal I could learn and then as I got older started mellowing out to Nirvana, Alice in Chains and of course the classic rock that I had always listened to because of my father who is a huge Eric Claypton fan.

I never played in a band or did any gigging because I have always been a casual guitar player, never took myself too seriously but did have a quite a few jam sessions with my 3 best friends one being a drummer, a bass player and another guitarist. We never really wrote any music, mostly just played cover tunes.

About 6 months ago, I went to a practice session with a friend from work and was just gonna observe, they had 1 guitarist, 1 drummer and my buddy sang and played bass. Well one thing lead to another and before I knew it, I had my American Fender Strat Blackie Edition around my neck and was playing along. They ended up inviting me to play in the band after it was all said and done. So now I do play in a band and I absolutley love it! It is one of the high points of my week when we get together. We have a blast! We mostly play ZZ Top, Tom Petty, Eric Claypton, Jimmy Hendrix and of course Lynard Skinnard covers.