PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Myself

Epiphone
May 25th, 2008, 10:17 PM
Whats up everbody my name is Jim Bob. I've been playing guitar since August of 2007. That is when I bought my first guitar which is an Alvarez. It sounds beautiful and I wouldn't trade it for the world. I taught myself how to play by reading guitar tabs. I got a Epiphone Les Paul for my birthday. That is the guitar I play most now. I also have a Cry Baby Wah pedal. Thats really all the gear I have now. I'm looking to get a distortion pedal but i'm not sure what kind is good. So if anybody has any tips for a beginner guitarist like me feel free to email me. I'd like to post some videos of me playin but i'm not sure how to do it so is anybody wants to tell me I'd appreciate it.

just strum
May 25th, 2008, 10:39 PM
Welcome Jim Bob. We have a few fretters here that are from Texas and I'm sure they will be around later tonight or tomorrow (a number of us are "older" and need to get our rest).

I think you will find a lot of information in the stomp box section doing a search and posting some question regarding what you are looking for.

Enjoy being a member here and good luck on your guitar journey.

sunvalleylaw
May 25th, 2008, 10:51 PM
Welcome Epi! I hope to add an Epi LP or maybe a knockoff, to my herd some day. I am sure you will have fun here. As far as another pedal, I think I would look at a Digitech Bad Monkey like a lot of us have here. You can get them cheap used and in good shape. More of an overdrive, but a good, versatile pedal. Search around in the Pedals forum. Lots of good info there. Again, welcome. :)

Also, you could check out this pedal: http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=6830

The players here that own them love 'em, and I believe it covers a lot of ground between overdrive and distortion.

Spudman
May 25th, 2008, 11:38 PM