PDA

View Full Version : Some songs, just for you! :D

thearabianmage
May 26th, 2008, 07:53 AM
Here are a few little things I've written - but before you listen to them, let me just note a few things:

1 - some of the equipment I used is ghetto!!! And other equipment and programs, even after over a year, I am still trying to learn - so the quality will be a sort of mish-mash. Generally speaking, the better sounding songs I have done more recently.

2 - There are no drummers in Draycott. There was, some dude named Will Sealey, and he is bloody amazing, but unfortunately he's been nabbed by a bunch of old dudes in London. SO. . .I am using a stupid program designed for hip-hop to sequence my drums. I try and vary them about and keep it interesting, but they do grate.

3 - I am no producer. I try, but as a general rule that I heard once, the person who wrote the song should not master/produce it. I don't know why that is, but I have thrown that rule in the toilet. And I think it is obvious. So please don't be too harsh on the production :D

4 - The best way to listen to my music is through good headphones or a good system where you can discriminate between left and right speakers. Steve Vai is an influence on me in many ways and moving around from right to left speakers, doubling (tripling, quadrupling), layers, all of that is common use for me.

Now the songs, a little background for each:

Arabmetal - not much to say about this one. Just a bit of fun, really.

Colossus of Bronze - The first proper rawker I wrote.

People Person - I spoke the lyrics because I couldn't sing then (still can't, but I'm a lot better now) - and this song was recorded using a £10 computer mic (with the bendy neck) put up to my little giddy amp and I was using movie soundtrack software called Adobe Audition to record into. Be careful with the ending, I didn't know what clipping was when I recorded this, but I tried to cover it up by fading out.