PDA

View Full Version : the inner ear...

Childbride
June 22nd, 2008, 06:07 PM
[...]

shiner started doing this 6-8 months ago. [usually to a star trek episode] he would hear the music, and just start figuring out the chords. i watched in consternation.

today, out of the blue, just strumming on my sx randomly, feeling the freedom of not having to perform anything for my lesson tomorrow,

i suddenly had a memory of a family member, which triggered an autonomic song response, and started hearing pink floyd's 'wish you were here' in my brain. and i just started playing the chords.

i downloaded them to check, and i was right.

this is scarily thrilling. does it get better? am i going to be able to follow songs better now?

maybe a precursor to being able to write my first song...

just strum
June 22nd, 2008, 06:22 PM
It's another step into the dark side. Let your fears go and step over to the other side, the dark side.

street music
June 22nd, 2008, 08:28 PM
Big step forward CB, I'm starting recognize more and more chords, I still have trouble with single notes. My mom and brother play piano by ear and they tell me it will come to the ear.

M29
June 22nd, 2008, 08:37 PM
Cool CB:dude: I find myself doing that as well. Sometimes I can guess low E in my head when tuning. Not very often though:thwap: It is great when we feel progress.

M29

Spudman
June 22nd, 2008, 10:35 PM
That is awesome.

For your first song put together a few chords that you like and then sing articles from your newspaper. It's great training and you won't feel obligated to move the world...until you get more accustomed to inventing.

evenkeel
June 24th, 2008, 07:21 PM
Very cool CB. And it does get better. There is a "light bulb going on" quality to it. Like breaking a code, once you have the code in your brain sometimes it just pops out.

Congrats. :bravo: :bravo:

Childbride
June 24th, 2008, 08:04 PM