PDA

View Full Version : Tube Testing

Nelskie
May 12th, 2006, 03:39 PM
OK Fret Net Tube Gurus - Here's something that came whistling in from left field today.

My 2001 Cyber Twin uses (2) 12AX7 tubes in the pre-amp stage. Seeing that the tubes that are in there now (I'm assuming that they're original) are getting close to (5) years old, I thought it might be time to change them out for something else. Having read on some online forums that the Electro-Harmonix tubes work very well with this amp, I decided to go over to the Tube Depot to see what the cost would be for a pair. It was at this point that I found a drop-down menu next to the tube, and in that menu a number of options for "testing" the tube(s).

http://www.tubedepot.com/eh-12ax7.html

Well, I'm no expert when it comes to "tube-testing", and am wondering if there are benefits to doing it. These were the options that were given:

1.) Standard test
2.) High gain test + $2
3.) Matching + $2
4.) Balanced triodes + $2
5.) Matched / balanced triodes + $4
6.) Low noise & microphincs + $4

Now these costs are per / tube, so if you wanted to have some testing done, you could stretch that $7.95 original price tag to nearly $20 / ea. That would bring the cost of the pair to around $40. Not huge dollars by any means, but again, it would be helpful to know what testing options would really have the biggest effect, or which ones were the most necessary.

Two other things I found out about the Cyber Twin today: 1.) There isn't a lot of information available on the internet on these amps - mods, patch settings, or general maintenance - even on the Fender Forum; and 2.) Nearly every amp website I checked out had nothing but searing contempt and riducule for this Fender amp model. And that's putting it very lightly. :confused: Oh well, as an avid PODxt user, I guess I should be used to it by now.

Insights and opinions are welcomed.

SuperSwede
May 12th, 2006, 03:46 PM