PDA

View Full Version : I discovered a new method to strengthen your fretting fingers!

hubberjub
July 15th, 2008, 12:38 PM
It involves stabbing yourself in the pad of your index finger. It will force you to rely on your middle, ring, and pinky. It's great. Everyone should try it!
http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd105/hubberjub/DSCN0368.jpg
On second thought it kind of sucks. Luckily I don't have another gig until the 26th. It is forcing me to come up with some interesting fingerings though.

luvmyshiner
July 15th, 2008, 12:41 PM
Damn hubberjub. That looks nasty.:puke: If it's all the same to you I think I'll pass on this new training method of yours.

Rocket
July 15th, 2008, 12:52 PM
Been there.
Banana'd my left medio to the bone doing a full-length E-slide on ultra-lights.
That's why I try to discourage the use of ultra-lights.

R_of_G
July 15th, 2008, 01:04 PM
I definitely feel for you Hub. When I was still cooking for a living I had a bit of an accident with a knife and nearly removed the entirety of my fingertip on my left index finger. The time it took to heal was a lot longer than I intended to go without playing guitar so I found some work-around fingerings and/or dealt with the excruciating pain. Here's hoping you heal quickly.:AOK:

Spudman
July 15th, 2008, 01:37 PM
Ouch! Oh crap, there goes nose picking.

I hope you heal well.

Robert
July 15th, 2008, 01:38 PM
Errhh, sorry but why did you stab yerself? :)

luvmyshiner
July 15th, 2008, 01:43 PM
To strengthen his fretting finger Robert. Come on, pay attention son.:poke:

evenkeel
July 15th, 2008, 01:59 PM
Ouch!! Hurts just looking at it.

Like Rocket I've got a bit of a flashback going. Mine involves a fish and a filet knife. :thwap:

hubberjub
July 15th, 2008, 02:01 PM
Errhh, sorry but why did you stab yerself? :)
I was cutting a plastic cable tie and the knife slipped. It was my own careless mistake. I'm not the brightest bulb in the lamp.

hubberjub
July 15th, 2008, 02:08 PM