PDA

View Full Version : Thumb over the top

Lev
August 27th, 2008, 05:15 AM
Just curious, how many of you guys use the thumb of your fretting hand to play bass notes ?

This is a technique I've always struggled with. When I was younger I took lessons from a classically trained guitarist who always tried to get me to keep my thumb on the back of the neck rather than over the top to allow easier access for long stretches. I guess this is the reason I'm now struggling to master the thumb over the top technique.

I noticed John Mayer uses the thumb over the top technique to great effect, he can even do slides with it without changing the position of his fretting fingers.

tot_Ou_tard
August 27th, 2008, 05:20 AM
I'm a beginner, but I try to do both. Thumb over the neck for fretting & maybe bends. Thumb on the back for everything else.

I find that having the thumb low helps open up the hand & so I get cleaner fretting: straight down on the strings with the tips of the fingers.

The thumb fretting is very cool & allows one to voice certain chords more easily.

ShortBuSX
August 27th, 2008, 07:05 AM
As a kid Id noticed Jimmy Page, Hendrix, SRV, Clapton...almost everybody does the thumb over the top, even if they arent using it for the bass notes. Ive heard this referred to as "chopping chords". I tried to emulate this but never had any luck with it, and Ive got long fingers, I usually just pivot off my thumb on the back of the neck and this way Im able to get more reach or span.
But when playing stuff like Hendrix or like Clapton's Key To The Highway, there are some parts youve just gotta use your thumb...but then theres other times when its just easier,less goofy(for me) to use the full chord.

But I have seen people, like my buddy, who are able to do the thumb over the top thing, and they usually have a pretty good mastery with the bass lines...at times I think he could totally get away without a bass player, doing both parts himself.

Jimi75
August 27th, 2008, 07:58 AM