PDA

View Full Version : Walked out tonight

Spudman
September 7th, 2008, 11:35 PM
I turned off my amp and put my gear away and walked out of the open mic tonight.

I've become the host for this open mic to some degree because nobody else has a repertoire. I sing 95% of the material and get no help with backup vocals and the bass player can't ever remember week to week how the songs go or what key they are in, and he was given a song list with all the keys on it. He even forgets his songs, and no he doesn't drink. He also looses concentration frequently when a woman walks across the room, stares at his fingers, misses cues and doesn't pay attention. It's like he is somewhere else in his head rather than at the gig. On almost every song I have my fingers crossed that it will go all right. I shouldn't have to do that.

I got really fed up with all the excuses as to why he can't learn the material.
I told him that I'm a professional and that when you are presented with material then professionals get it learned. He was given all the songs on CD months ago. I think I've been very patient with him. He is the one booking gigs in spite of being unprepared. Not one single other member has presented any songs to do either.

I took him outside after I had my car loaded and explained to him how critical this is and gave him until next week to prove himself otherwise I won't be doing any gigs with him. We've done a few already but I feel like it's totally amateur night every time.

I look at it like this: if you are being hired and paid then that makes you a professional. Professionals have (or should have) standards that make them worth hiring and paying. The rest of the group shouldn't be forced to come down to another band members level just because they are too lazy to get their sh** together.