PDA

View Full Version : Another one bites the dust

Glacies
September 24th, 2008, 06:36 AM
Hey fellas. Just stumbled over this site while looking for reviews on a guitar. What an incredible resource this place is.

I'm a 25 yo defense engineer and I've never had any musical education whatsoever, but about 3 months ago I decided to pick up the guitar and play and I have barely been able to put it down ever since (it helps my neighbor teaches guitar).

Anyway, everyone tells me I'm moving pretty fast through the basics and I'm really enjoying it. I'm trying to pick up music theory on the way which I thought slowed me down, but the engineer in me wants to know why songs work the way they do.

So I've picked up a good number of chords, I have some pretty fast change ups (although yesterday I started using a metronome to assist in rythym) and all of my pents. I'm now working on songs that combine them all, as well as some solo improv which I really enjoy.

I prefer the blues style of play and have held to that in my playing, but I slip some classic rock in there occassionally as well. I'd really like to play some reggae, tiny bit of metal, and I'd love to learn to some classical as well so I can play with a friend, but I figure all in good time. I'm 3 months in.

I'm probably going to be lurking for quite a bit because quite frankly I'm not sure I have much to offer right now, but I may have to put a few recordings up at some point if anyone is interested in hearing a newbie strum along. Although I might wait until I can replace my First Act Electric and amp (wal-mart sale) with something a little more viscious.

Thanks for the site guys. Again, this is an awesome resource to new guitarists and experienced alike and I look forward to plowing through some of these threads.

:R

tunghaichuan
September 24th, 2008, 06:47 AM
Welcome to The Fret.

tung

Algonquin
September 24th, 2008, 06:57 AM
Welcome to the Fret Glacies!
Cheers :beer:

luvmyshiner