PDA

View Full Version : John 5 Tele Wiring Mods?

Teleblaster
September 30th, 2008, 12:39 AM
Hi

Well after successfully completing my first rewiring job, I am ready for the next!

If you are not familiar with the wiring on the J5 then please check it out here (http://www.fender.com/support/diagrams/pdf_temp1/telecaster/0139000_306A/SD0139000_306APg2.pdf).

It has a 3 way toggle near the upper strap button like on a Les Paul which toggles between single coil neck and a humbucker in the bridge. It uses 2 volumes-one for each pickup, no tone, no caps.

I definitely am interested in splitting the bridge bucker and possibly adding a another HB to the neck. Are there any extra sounds I could get by adding another 3 or 5 way switch to the control panel as well as using one or two push pull pots?

Please be specific and give detailed instructions if possible. I'm still a mod rookie :)

Thanks!

marnold
September 30th, 2008, 08:34 AM
Well, what I would do is this: swap out both pots for push-pull pots. Use one to cut the coil(s) of the humbucker(s) and the other as a series-parallel switch. That would give you a lot of tonal options. DVM has the wiring instructions (http://duhvoodooman.com/musical/humbucker_mods/humbucker_mods_2.htm) for your perusal. Check out "Basic Coil Cut Wiring" and "'Megabucker' Series Wiring" on that page. Depending on the humbucker(s) you should be able to have the middle position be hum-canceling with the humbucker(s) in single coil mode.

Then you'd have these options:
Bridge only (single coil or humbucker)
Neck only (single coil or humbucker--assuming you swap out the neck pickup)
Middle in single coil mode (series or parallel)
Middle in humbucker mode (series or parallel)

Suddenly your guitar goes from three tones to eight. Not at all bad.

Teleblaster
September 30th, 2008, 09:12 AM