PDA

View Full Version : Which Behringer V-tone?

Glacies
October 27th, 2008, 01:42 PM
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-VTone-GM108-15W-Modeling-Guitar-Combo-Amp?sku=480698

or

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-VTone-GMX212-Stereo-Combo?sku=480731

I pretty much had been set on the 2x12 amp, but the thing is this:

I'm a starting guitarist, will most likely never gig, most of what I do is sit in my home office and strum around.

I want a modeling amp so I don't have to invest in pedals and I'm afraid of tubes because I don't want ot have to run them too loud at home.

tunghaichuan
October 27th, 2008, 04:14 PM
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-VTone-GM108-15W-Modeling-Guitar-Combo-Amp?sku=480698

or

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-VTone-GMX212-Stereo-Combo?sku=480731

I'm a starting guitarist, will most likely never gig, most of what I do is sit in my home office and strum around.

I want a modeling amp so I don't have to invest in pedals and I'm afraid of tubes because I don't want ot have to run them too loud at home.

One thing that comes to mind is that 2x12" speakers is going to sound much better than one 8" speaker. I've never tried either but if I had to guess, I'd say that the smaller amp sounds boxier and "smaller."

Another thing: solid state amps generally don't sound better as you crank them up. IOW, they sound about the same at low volumes as they do at moderate volumes. This is an advantage for you as you get mostly the same tone at lower volumes for practicing at home.

With tubes, they do sound better as you crank them up and get the power tubes working. That's why all there are all the attenuator and similar circuits to get the cranked tube amp tone at low volumes.

tung

mechanic
October 27th, 2008, 05:11 PM
What type of music will you be playing mostly?
I have the GMX1200H which is the head version of that 2x12 combo.