PDA

View Full Version : I never understood how people can wear out picks

aeolian
November 17th, 2008, 03:56 PM
I've been messing around with guitars for over 40 years (although you can hardly tell by listening to me) and I don't see how someone can wear out picks. I have to admit I have a couple of thin picks crack on me when I first started playing. When I first got started I used thin picks, but pretty soon I moved to mediums, and then about 10 years ago I went to Dunlop Jazz IIIs (1.38mm). With the Dunlops I have never even noticed any wear on my picks, let alone break them. So if you break picks, what you do that actually wear them out, since I can't say that I have done that except for thin picks when I first got started.

marnold
November 17th, 2008, 04:13 PM
I've got one Fender medium that I've pretty much used 100% of the time until I got my Floyd. The pointy bit is now worn down to the point that it's hard to tell one corner of the pick from another. In the battle of plastic vs. metal, plastic will lose eventually.

Robert
November 17th, 2008, 04:39 PM
I wear them out all the time! They start out with round edges, but after playing a while, they get sharp edges and I don't like the tone of them no moe.

evenkeel
November 17th, 2008, 04:51 PM
I use these goofy things (the heavy version). They definately wear out and I need to replace them. The end gets rounded off and it just feels wrong.

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/evenkeel_album/dunlop.jpg

Katastrophe
November 17th, 2008, 05:01 PM
I use these goofy things (the heavy version). They definately wear out and I need to replace them. The end gets rounded off and it just feels wrong.

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/evenkeel_album/dunlop.jpg

Okay... where do I get those picks? I've been wanting to try one out, but I don't think anyone in Austin sells 'em.

I usually play with heavy picks, and I've worn a few down significantly. The pointy end gets rounded down with use / abuse.

warren0728