PDA

View Full Version : First SM57 recording

Algonquin
November 22nd, 2008, 08:47 AM
Here's a quick recording I did yesterday using my brand spanking new SM57. :)
I'm pretty new to recording, so it's just plug and play for now.

Cheers!
David

http://www.box.net/shared/i62908i3zn

sunvalleylaw
November 22nd, 2008, 08:51 AM
Thanks for sharing David! Nice and clear sounding, with good articulation and detail. I am impressed by your playing and it is inspiring me to work on my right hand chops a lot more. Good job and have fun with it this weekend! Experiment with recording levels too. I have recorded with this mic only since last Christmas when I got it, and only sporadically at that, but I think it gives some nice results!

oldguy
November 22nd, 2008, 09:01 AM
Really nice chord work, David!:AOK:
I also enjoyed the riffs thrown in there. Very cool.
Thanks for posting this, it shows how nice and clean those mics are for recording.

M29
November 22nd, 2008, 09:23 AM
Yow! That is nice, very nice! Is this something you put together? Don't be hiding stuff like this on us now, more more!
I got a 57 last Christmas and I really like it. Congrats:rockon:

M29

Algonquin
November 22nd, 2008, 09:31 AM
Thanks for the nice comments Gents. That's a bit of an original tune I worked on with a couple of guys way back. When I picked up the guitar and started playing again it came back to me. They were excellent singers and this was one I always liked playing... I miss those guys.

warren0728
November 22nd, 2008, 10:16 AM
i really liked it....nice sparkly tone....can you give us details on the setup.... :pancake:

just strum
November 22nd, 2008, 10:37 AM
David,

Very nice. What guitar are you playing and any setting information you can provide?

Algonquin
November 22nd, 2008, 10:39 AM
i really liked it....nice sparkly tone....can you give us details on the setup.... :pancake:
Thanks Warren!... pretty basic setup I guess.
Peavey Classic 30
Volume 3
Bass 6 3/4
Treble 7