PDA

View Full Version : New guy

srv-fan68
June 19th, 2006, 03:51 PM
Hello.

I just thought I'd do the neighbourly thing and introduce myself. I've been playing for about 3 years now with frequent breaks in between, thanks to my busy job.

As my handle would suggest I'm an SRV fanatic, but I enjoy many other different styles of music. Neil Young is also a major influence on me.

My present gear is a Guitar Port, Fender Frontman 25w amp, MIM burst Stratocaster with pickups by Bill and Becky Lawrence. I also have a Yamaha nylon acoustic and an Art & Lutherie 6 string. My newest guitar is the amazing Takamine 12 string, EG523SC-12. I can't seem to put this guitar down.

Tim
June 19th, 2006, 04:38 PM
Welcome srv-fan68. There are several SRV fans on this forum. You will meet them soon enough. Enjoy your your new found neighbirhood.

Robert
June 19th, 2006, 05:20 PM
Welcome SRV-fan! We are many SRV fans here, so you'll fit right in. Say, how do you like those pickups on your strat? Tell us more! I am interested in good, noiseless pickups.

srv-fan68
June 19th, 2006, 05:45 PM
So far I have replaced the neck pickup with an L-280. I have noticed a difference in lower noise from that position but to be much better I am ordering the other 2 pickups from Bill Lawrence to match and a full sheilding package from monteallums.com. Still this one pickup does significantly lower the noise compared to the standard MIM pickup that was in there, and sounds fantastic on top of that.

Spudman
June 19th, 2006, 07:27 PM
Wecome to the Fret SRV fan. Aren't we all? Oh, please pass the salt.:D

Katastrophe
June 19th, 2006, 07:29 PM
Welcome to TheFret, SRV fan!

duhvoodooman
June 19th, 2006, 07:46 PM
Can't have enough SRV fans around here! Welcome srv-fan68!! Speaking of p'ups, I just put a set of Custom Shop Texas Specials in my Strat Plus to get some more of that SRV growl into my own tone! :DR

Guitar-Chris
June 20th, 2006, 12:30 PM
Welcome srv-fan.

Of course we're all SRV fans :DR

M29