PDA

View Full Version : Semi-Hollow Recommendations please

syo
December 8th, 2008, 08:23 AM
I am new to this fine group. I happily found this forum a week ago while seeking information on new (Chinese made) Hagstrom Viking.

I have decided that I finally must have semi-hollow body.
Off and on I've thought about getting an ES-335 but always wind up getting something else.
I loved playing my teacher's 60's ES-335 years ago but have not found any of the newer models I played on had quite the same vibe.

I recently read some very good reviews of Edwards 335 model and was first considering this. Then I came across the new Hagstroms and thought they looked interesting too. Now I'm liking the idea of the the ES-339 (for the smaller body)...

I came across SunValleyLaw's happy review of his Viking. I'm wondering how this would compare to the Edwards and the 339.
Any of you with thoughts/experiences/comparisons regarding any of these guitars?

Thanks!

t_ross33
December 8th, 2008, 11:41 AM
+1 on the Viking. The Ibanez Artcore series gets good reviews and they have a variety of semi-hollow models.

I really like my Washburn HB-30, good bang for the buck.

Ya just have to play everything you can get your hands on and pick the one that speaks to you. :AOK:

just strum
December 8th, 2008, 11:51 AM
The Viking has received some high marks from people here and although I have not played one, I trust the reviews of the people here.

Another option is the Epi Dot. I have one and it's my favorite guitar, followed by the Epi Widkat.

sunvalleylaw
December 8th, 2008, 01:06 PM
Syo, you already found my Viking review, and I continue to really enjoy this guitar the more I get to know it. I think it is a great value. Spud also really likes his, and I link to his Viking Deluxe thread in my review here.

http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=9125