PDA

View Full Version : Big 3 US Auto Makers New Ad Campaign

wingsdad
December 15th, 2008, 02:46 PM
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b81/wingsdad/Big3AdDec08.jpg

I make my living handling newspaper advertising for car dealers.
I'm not extremely busy these days.
Thanks partly to the attitude in this ad, I've been forced to sell 3 fine guitars since August as my income has dwindled.

R_of_G
December 15th, 2008, 03:10 PM
There's little I can say without delving into what would be considered politics, so let me simply say

(A) that fake ad is a great piece of satire and well-done

(B) I hope the Big 3 solve their own problems or go bankrupt bc they are not entitled to a dime of our tax money. Free markets are free markets. If we interfere, it's not capitalism, it's something else entirely.

Glacies
December 15th, 2008, 04:20 PM
I apologize if this is over the line political, but I don't think that the money given in bailouts is actual money the government had sitting around. They're just "inventing" it - it's the very definition of inflation. I don't beleive in it either.

ted s
December 15th, 2008, 04:39 PM
I understood that the money was being borrowed from the Federal Reserve, which is actually a private institution ? This interest on this borrowed money will be payed for on the backs of the tax payers.
Much the same in Canada as I understand it.
I think I just crossed the line.

R_of_G
December 15th, 2008, 04:48 PM
I believe you are correct in your understanding of the source of this money. It was Fed Reserve money all of which would be billed to the taxpayer. What it is the definition of is a tax increase.

just strum
December 15th, 2008, 05:44 PM
I think they should use it to buy guitars and gear and give it to members of forums that have over 100,000 posts. But that's just my opinion and it sort of takes the edge off of political subject concerns.