Thread: Avatar Cabs

Post Thanks / Like

Default Avatar Cabs

I know some of you have AVATAR CABS...http://www.avatarspeakers.com/

I'm mulling over getting an AVATAR Traditional G112 Cube and was wondering what some of you might recommend for a Celestion Speaker (that's what they use) for somebody who plays mostly blues slide/lap steel with a touch of SRV/Albert Collins/Allman thrown in??

In the unlikely scenario that I go for a 212 cab, what would you recommend for a second speaker? BTW, how does that whole second speaker thing work anyway? The Cliff Notes version for Dummies will suffice. As in, do you get to pick which speaker gives the main sound depending on what you want to do??

Thanks guys and gals.

Camrose, Alberta, Canada - used to be Umea Sweden.
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm not a speaker expert, but I have Eminence Wizards in my Avatar 2x12 and I think they sound great.

Maybe the Hellatone?

Our Hellatones are also great because the Hellatone 30 is a slightly broken in Celestion G12H30 and the Hellatone 60 is a slightly broken in Celestion Vintage 30.
    The Law of Gravity is nonsense. No such law exists. If I think I float, and you think I float, then it happens.
    Master Guitar Academy - I also teach via SKYPE.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Robert.

I would also want the speaker to be good at low volumes too, if that helps any.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by piebaldpython
    I'm mulling over getting an AVATAR Traditional G112 Cube and was wondering what some of you might recommend for a Celestion Speaker (that's what they use) for somebody who plays mostly blues slide/lap steel with a touch of SRV/Albert Collins/Allman thrown in??
    For blues, I'd look for a Jensen-style or alnico speaker first. Celestions (at least to my mind) have more of an aggressive rock 'n roll feel.

I'm looking at some of these speakers at the suggestion of Vood:

http://warehousespeakers.com/