Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Signed up for King of the Blues at GC

Post Thanks / Like

Default Signed up for King of the Blues at GC

I was doing my usual Saturday noodling at GC, checking out amps, etc., playing the blues as always, and a couple of GC employees asked me if I had signed up for the contest. What contest, I says. The King of the Blues contest. Fabulous prizes, etc.

They both felt I had the tone and chops to do it, but I had to think about it. Why? Because I'm kinda new at this performance thing and am just starting to build confidence. However, after thinking about it, I decided to jump into the deep end. I felt pretty comfortable till I started thinking about it, and now my stomach is doing flips.

I have 3 weeks to get ready -- it's on August 20th. Would love to get any and all advice anyone has. The whole competitive aspect weirds me out a little.

Bob
    Guitars: Jimmie Vaughan Strat, 2001 Affinity Squier Strat with 70's Japanese pickups, Affinity Squier Tele
    Amps: Fender Pro Junior w/ Ragin' Cajun speaker, Peavey Delta Blues 115
    Pedals: Ibanez TS9DX w/ Humphrey mod, Dunlop Crybaby Wah, Dano PB&J Delay, Arion Tubulator w/Indyguitarist mod, Boss CS-3, Dano Fish and Chips EQ, Boss CH-1, Dano TunaMelt Tremolo, Boss RV-3, Boss DS-1
    Strings: Darco 10's

Camrose, Alberta, Canada - used to be Umea Sweden.
    Post Thanks / Like

Awesome! Go for for it! Just stick what you know best. I'm not familiar with the details of this contest, but I'd suggest stick to good solid lines and licks that you know well. Make some good guitar faces as you are soloing, and you'll be all set.
    The Law of Gravity is nonsense. No such law exists. If I think I float, and you think I float, then it happens.
    Master Guitar Academy - I also teach via SKYPE.

Post Thanks / Like

I don't have any advice since I've never played guitar in front of others (at least not people who know how guitar is supposed to be played). Nevertheless, I'll be pulling for ya!