Thread: 50th Anniversary Fender Squier Telecaster !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default 50th Anniversary Fender Squier Telecaster !!!

I just saw an ad for a 1997 50th Anniversary Fender Squier Telecaster guitar. Black with maple neck; very good condition... He wants $200(CAN) for it...

I don't know much about Korean Fenders/Squiers, aside from the fact that the Protone series were great guitars...

I want to know: if such a guitar exists (50th Anniversary...) and if it is worth it? (Anniversary or not...)

Post Thanks / Like

The original Esquire, the forerunner of the Tele, was introduced in 1950.
    A 1997 50th anniversary would appear to date the guitar's introduction back to 1947.
    I don't know of such a model, but I'm no expert.
    Welcome to TheFret btw. Drop by the Fretplayer's section when you can, and introduce yourself so we can welcome you properly.
    Guitars
    Wilburn Versatare, '52 FrankenTele(Fender licensed parts), Fender USA Roadhouse Strat, Fender USA Standard B-bender Telecaster, Agile AL 3000 w/ WCR pickups, Ibanez MIJ V300 Acoustic, Squier Precision Bass,
    Amps
    Ceriatone Overtone Special, Musicman 212 Sixty-Five, Fender Blues Jr., Peavey Classic 30, Fender Super Reverb, Traynor YCV-40 WR Anniversary w/ matching 1x12 ext. cab, Epiphone SoCal 50w head w/ matching 4x12 cab (Lady Luck speakers), Avatar 2x12 semi-open back cab w/ Celestion speakers
    Pedals
    Digitech Bad Monkey, Digitech Jamman, DVM's ZYS, Goodrich volume pedal

Post Thanks / Like

1996 was the 50th anniversary of the Fender company (if you ignore the inconvenient fact that it's changed hands three times). It's possible some mention was made in literature and some special models. I don't remember any. My late '05 tele has a 60th anniversary button on the headstock. All guitars got them through '06. I expect we'll see these advertised as "special editions" in the future.
    Electric: Fat strat > Korg PB > TS7 > DS1 > DD-20 > Cube 60 (Fender model)