Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968
1960?

Thread: 1960?

Post Thanks / Like

Default 1960?

Hello All and Happy New Year, Recently on a show on the history chanel (pawnstars) a guy who said he used to tour with bands such as triumph and others was trying to pawn a (what he thought was a 1960) les paul, he wanted $25000 for it! the guitar was quite used (still beautiful) and he did'nt claim any famous attachments to it, so being that I'm not a guitar expert, even close! why such a heafty asking price? was 1960 special, and if so why?

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I saw that episode. I love that show. I think the reason those old ones are worth so much, is that they are so rare.

Post Thanks / Like

$25,000 for a '60 Les Paul might well be a bargain. The Holy Grail of LP's is a '59/60 Les Paul Standard, sunburst. Got one of those in the closet in mint shape, with lots of flame maple and you are looking at a cool $350,000 US. A '59/60 LP Custom has a book of $100,000 +/-.

What makes 'em worth that much??? Because people are willing to pay.
    "The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic
    hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs.
    There's also a negative side."
    --Hunter S. Thompson

Guitars: Dean Sweet Wood 00R, Martin D2R, Guild D60, Guild D35NT, Morgan Monroe M30, OS baritone Uke

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by evenkeel
    What makes 'em worth that much??? Because people are willing to pay.
    Specifically, rich collectors and famous musicians. The rest of us just drool over the photos....
    DVM's Ever-Expanding Gear List:

Guitars - W-A-A-A-Y-Y too many to list. Check 'em all out HERE