Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Hi all - From the very beginning

Thread: Hi all - From the very beginning

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hi all - From the very beginning

Hello all,

So here's the story, I'm very new at trying to play the guitar. I've smashed around on it pretending that I can play, but nothing ever sounds as it should, even though I enjoy it.

My uncle give me a Washburn LII - at least I think that's what it is, three years ago, just before I started uni, I've never learned how to play and really want to start. I don't really have the time nor money to buy lessons yet, but now that I've finished uni I'm about to start a full time job and want to learn how to play this instrument, I absolutely love rock music, and especially the songs that I get goosebumps from when I hear a great guitar solo. It happens a lot, and I think its about time for me to be able to create these kind of riffs.

Any suggestions on what I should do to start out, like I said I'm completely new to this and have very little knowledge in reading music or even the cords on my guitar.

Thanks

This is my guitar

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Zel. Welcome!

There are a bunch of good resources here for learning how to play -- I'm sure people will have lots of suggestions. My best idea is to make some friends who play and learn from them.
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudman
    Does anyone read the original post?
    Guitars: Gibson LP Studio, MIA Fender Precision, Carvin C350
    Amps: Genz Benz Shuttle 6.0 + Avatar B212 / Genzler 12-3, Acoustic B20
    Pedals: Pod HD500X, Diamond Compressor, Tech 21 VT Bass, Sonic Research Turbo Tuner

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Welcome to The Fret, Zel. You've come to a great place full of helpful people.