Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968
Oh so new

Thread: Oh so new

Post Thanks / Like

Default Oh so new

I'm just learning to play guitar for the first time. After an epic 3 months of guitar playing, I can handle "Silent Night."

I know you're impressed.

I have an Epiphone Les Paul Standard that I picked off of eBay for $300. It's a beautiful thing. I just wish that I could play it as well as it deserves to be.

I'm learning from a guitar tech that's been playing for 30 years as well as from a "Learn Guitar Today" book. I'm thinking of suing them for the "today" part of their title. Actually it's a decent book that has kept me interested and not gotten me frustrated.

I'm really interested in playing slide guitar and generally any of the bends, slides and similar sounds. When you realize that I was trying to decide between guitar and cello, you might understand the sound that I like. Despite the cello and bluesy slide references, my interests are mainly rock.

I'll be quite happy when I get to the point that I can play Dire Straits, "Brothers in Arms."

My favorite guitar pick is my cut up credit card.

Post Thanks / Like

This is friendly place, and as a newbie myself, can attest to that fact regardless of experience or present ability (of which I have neither). I have found a of ton help and info here and the past posts are full of links and such. If you did not find your way here thru Roberts site, definately check it out. His link is at the end of all his posts; video lessons, gear info, it's great. So welcome aboard and lookin forward to hearing slide rendition of silent night.
    "Without music to decorate it, time is just a bunch of boring production deadlines or dates by which bills must be paid." - Frank Zappa

Yamaha G240
    Epi Dot Deluxe, Squier '51, G&L S-500
    Vox AD30VT, PODxt

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome Mikul