Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Which Pod to buy?

Thread: Which Pod to buy?

Post Thanks / Like

Question Which Pod to buy?

So first, some background: I have been playing in churches on the worship teams for the past 5+ years, and I estimate that I probably will continue to do so for a long time. For the uninitiated when it comes to that scene, it's big-time into clean stages: these days they want everyone going direct and everyone using headphone monitoring. Most people use in-ears, but I personally hate those in-ear canalphones, so I usually opt for over-the-ear headphones.

Anyway, the point is that a DI guitar solution is sort of par for the course these days. I have recently been using a Tech 21 Sansamp GT2 and various delays and dirt pedals. However, lately I've been having trouble getting good sounds out of the GT2, so I decided to try out a friend's Pod HD400 last night during a mid-week jam thing at the church.

The result? Wow, what a difference. It made me want to throw away my pedalboard and just get a Pod for everything. So while I may not be getting rid of my pedals immediately, I am seriously contemplating a Pod for live use at church. Now, the question is which one to get. That's where all of you come in.

I know the HD500 is easily the most flexible, but I am wondering about the wisdom of using a menu-heavy modeling unit for live use. For those familiar with the units, would an HD300 or HD400 be a better option? Bear in mind that this would be primarily for live DI use where I'd need a good amount of flexibility in terms of styles, but where I would not necessarily use tons and tons of effects. In other words, it's not really for recording, but more as an amp replacement for one specific application.